Rotating Image Header

Can I open a trading account from any country?

Residents or citizens from most non-US countries can open accounts to day trade.

However, due to the US Patriot Act, customers from some countries won’t be able to open accounts in the United States. Traders in the following list of countries are unable to open accounts in the US: Afghanistan, Burma (Myanmar), Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Unita (Angola) and Western Balkans.

Unless you live in one of the prohibited countries as per the Patriot Act, you will not have a problem opening and account in the US to day trade (please note that even if the US will not allow you to open an account, there are many reputable brokerage firms all over the world that probably will).

Visit the account opening page if you are NOT from the United States and are think

Back to FAQ section.